Offshore Achievement Awards finalists unveiled

January 16, 2018

Finalists for this year's Offshore Achievement Awards, hosted by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section, have been revealed today. 

The annual awards recognise the best talent, performance and innovation in the industry. This year’s shortlist recognizes exceptional companies, both large and small, game-changing technology developments and individuals who go the extra mile in the offshore sector.

More than 100 entries were received, with particular interest in the Collaboration, Emerging Technology, Innovator and Young Professional categories. Young Professional will once again see the finalists interviewed before a shortlist of three is selected, with the winner announced at the ceremony on 22 March.

Ian Phillips, chairman of the SPE Aberdeen Section and the OAA organizing committee, said: “Judging these awards is always a fascinating but challenging task. Submission numbers rose by 50% between 2017 and 2018, and the quality remains exceptional, which is hugely encouraging and a welcome sign that positive stories within the industry are increasing." 

"SPE Aberdeen looks forward to unveiling the winners in March and highlighting the fantastic work happening in our industry.”

The finalists for the 2018 Offshore Achievement Awards, sponsored by Taqa, are:

Emerging Technology (sponsored by Oil & Gas Innovation Centre - OGIC)

  • Guardian Global Technologies 
  • ICR
  • Scotrenewables Tidal Power 

Innovator (sponsored by the Oil & Gas Technology Centre - OGTC)

  • BiSN
  • Servelec Controls
  • Silixa 

HSE Innovation (sponsored by the Offshore Europe Partnership)

  • Nexen Petroleum and DNV GL
  • Osbit 
  • Oxifree Global 
  • Peterson

Collaboration (sponsored by Nexen)

  • BP & Subsea 7
  • Chevron North Sea – Erskine Hub Strategy
  • Chevron North Sea – Erskine Well Intervention
  • Connected Competence

Export Achievement (sponsored by the Energy Industries Council – EIC)

  • Coretrax Technology
  • ROMAR International 
  • STATS Group

Outstanding Skills Development

  • Cyberhawk Innovations 
  • Score (Europe) 
  • Sparrows Group

Young Professional

  • Chris Stewart, Expro
  • Jennifer Brown, Nexen Petroleum 
  • Laura Steedman, BP
  • Leonard Hamill, Pipetech
  • Lyndsey Thomas, Nexen Petroleum 
  • Maria Laura Martinez, Hoover Ferguson
  • Steven Rossiter, AgileTek

(Short list of three to be selected following an interview process)

Above & Beyond

  • Adam Zalewski, BP Exploration 
  • John Fraser, Sparrows Group
  • Malcolm Connolly, Cyberhawk Innovations

Great Company – SME (sponsored by Wood)

  • BiSN
  • Blaze Manufacturing Solutions 
  • Step Change Engineering 

Great Company – Large

  • Entier 
  • Nexen Petroleum 
  • Peterson
  • TWMA

The Significant Contribution (sponsored by Aker Solutions) award will be announced on the evening.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday March 22 at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre in Aberdeen.

Categories: North Sea Europe

Current News

Dolphin Drilling Declares Bankruptcy

Dolphin Drilling Declares Bankruptcy

DOF Subsea Desperately Seeking Funds

DOF Subsea Desperately Seeking Funds

Shearwater Wins Tyra Shoot

Shearwater Wins Tyra Shoot

IPC Begins Drilling Program in Malaysia

IPC Begins Drilling Program in Malaysia

BHGE to Bring AI to Oilfield

BHGE to Bring AI to Oilfield

Moving Water Treatment Subsea

Moving Water Treatment Subsea

Senegal President's Brother Resigns After Energy Fraud Claims

Senegal President's Brother Resigns After Energy Fraud Claims

Subscribe for OE Digital E‑News

OE Digital E-News is the subsea industry's largest circulation and most authoritative ENews Service, delivered to your Email three times per week