Brazil: Gov't Nominates Six Petrobras Directors

Jamie McGeever
Monday, March 8, 2021

Brazil's state-run oil firm Petrobras said on Monday that the government had nominated six individuals as potential members of the firm's board of directors, to be voted on at the upcoming extraordinary general meeting.

Five have been nominated by the Ministry of Mines and Energy and one by the Economy Ministry, Petroleo Brasileiro SA, as the company is formally known, said in a securities filing.

It said the government could still put forward two more names.

This comes after four directors said last week they would be stepping down, following President Jair Bolsonaro's decision last month to replace Chief Executive Roberto Castello Branco with retired military general Joaquim Silva e Luna.

The six names nominated on Monday are Silva e Luna, Eduardo Bacellar Leal Ferreira, Ruy Flaks Schneider, Márcio Andrade Weber, Murilo Marroquim de Souza and Sonia Julia Sulzbeck Villalobos.

A date has yet to be set for the extraordinary general meeting. 

(Reporting by Jamie McGeever; Editing by Edmund Blair)

Categories: Activity South America People & Companies People

Related Stories

UK: OGA Toughens Stance, Eyes Zero Routine Flaring and Venting by 2030 'at the latest'

BP Starts Production from Manuel Deepwater Project in U.S. Gulf of Mexico

Ocean Sun, Statkraft Working to Retrieve Sunken Solar Plant in Albania

Current News

Safety Boost: 4Subsea to Monitor Var Energi's Drilling Ops at Balder

Havyard Delivers Another Offshore Wind Service Vessel to Esvagt

Eco Wave Power Installs Spotter Buoy in Portugal

Huge Interest in Norwegian Offshore Wind, Minister Says

Subscribe for OE Digital E‑News