Subsea UK 2018 business awards finalists revealed

January 5, 2018

Finalists for industry body Subsea UK's 2018 business awards have been unveiled. 

Some of the country’s most innovative and successful subsea businesses have made it on to the shortlist for the annual awards which seek to recognise companies and individuals who are leading the way in Britain’s £7.5 billion subsea sector. 

The awards dinner, sponsored by Baker Hughes GE and Helix Energy Solutions, will take place on Thursday 8 February 2018, at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre, during Subsea Expo – Europe’s largest subsea focused exhibition and conference.  

Among the finalists, JDR Cable Systems, Tekmar Energy and Caley Ocean Systems are in the running to win the coveted Subsea Company of the Year award, sponsored by SMD. 

In the Global Exports award category, STATS Group, Tekmar Energy and Maritime Developments have been shortlisted; while the Innovation for Safety award will see SECC Oil and Gas, Maritime Developments and The Underwater Centre compete to take home the coveted accolade.

The Small Company of the Year award will be contested by AgileTek, Namaka Subsea and DiveSource, while Rovco, 1CSI Limited and Triton Marine and Engineering Consultants have been shortlisted for the New Enterprise Award, sponsored by Wood.

The shortlist for the Innovation and Technology award, sponsored by Simmons & Co International, comprises Hydratight, Swagelining and Maritime Developments. Arnold Grundy of Oceaneering, Robert Marshall of Shell UK and Jingyi Wan of JDR Cable Systems will contest the Young Emerging Talent award. 

The individual who has made the most outstanding contribution to the subsea sector will be announced on the night.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK, said: "No matter what challenges we are up against as an industry, it’s vital that we continue to recognise and reward those who are working hard to exploit opportunities, innovate and export, while adapting to a new environment. 

"The UK is without a doubt the global subsea centre of excellence and we should be proud of what we have achieved. Our annual awards dinner is an opportunity for the sector to take a step back and look at how far we’ve come as an industry and commend the resilience, strength and ingenuity of our supply chain.”

Subsea UK 2018 Award Finalists:

Company of the Year (Sponsored by SMD)

  • Caley Ocean Systems
  • Tekmar Energy 
  • JDR Cables

Innovation & Technology Award (Sponsored by Simmons & Co International)

  • Hydratight 
  • Swagelining 
  • Maritime Developments

New Enterprise Award (Sponsored by Wood.)

  • 1CSI Limited 
  • Rovco
  • Triton Marine & Engineering Consultants

Best Small Company 

  • AgileTek
  • Namaka
  • DiveSoure

Innovation for Safety 

  • The Underwater Centre
  • Secc Oil & Gas 
  • Maritime Developments

Global Exports

  • Tekmar Energy 
  • STATS Group
  • Maritime Developments

Young Emerging Talent (Sponsored by Subsea UK)

  • Arnold Grundy, Oceaneering 
  • Robert Marshall, Shell UK 
  • Jingyi Wan, JDR Cable Systems 

Current News

Nigeria: FPSO Workers Released after Kidnapping

Nigeria: FPSO Workers Released after Kidnapping

DOF Subsea Wins 'Key Award' with Chevron in Australia

DOF Subsea Wins 'Key Award' with Chevron in Australia

Petrobras to Mothball Offshore Platform to Cut Costs

Petrobras to Mothball Offshore Platform to Cut Costs

Largest Jack-Up to Install Largest Turbines at World's Largest Offshore Wind Farm

Largest Jack-Up to Install Largest Turbines at World's Largest Offshore Wind Farm

Subscribe for OE Digital E‑News

Offshore Engineer Magazine