Join OEdigital on Facebook Join OEdigital on LinkedIn Join OEdigital on Twitter

Halliburton elects new CEO

Written by  OE Staff Wednesday, 17 May 2017 17:10

Houston-based oilfield services provider Halliburton has selected its current president, Jeff Miller, to succeed CEO Dave Lesar, effective 1 June 2017. Miller will serve as both president and CEO.

Image of Miller, from Halliburton.

Lesar has been chairman and CEO of Halliburton since 2000. He will continue serving as executive chairman until he reaches mandatory retirement on 31 December 2018. 

Miller will provide the day-to-day leadership and management. He will also be responsible for the planning and execution of Halliburton’s strategic direction, financial objectives, and technology development along with Halliburton's management team who will report directly to him.

As executive chairman, Lesar will continue to play an important leadership role focusing on the strategic direction of the company, advising the Halliburton management team and transitioning CEO responsibilities to Miller, who will then continue reporting to Lesar. 

“As I approach my last 18 months as a Halliburton employee, it’s time to look forward and transition to new leadership,” Lesar said. “I have known and worked with Jeff for almost 30 years and have great confidence that he is the best choice to be the next Halliburton CEO.”

Miller joined Halliburton in 1997 and has since served in several leadership roles, including chief operating officer until 2014, when he was named president and was appointed to the Halliburton board of directors. Miller holds a Bachelor of Science in agriculture and business from McNeese State University in Louisiana, and an MBA from Texas A&M University. He is a certified public accountant, a member of the Advisory Council for Texas A&M University Dwight Look College of Engineering, and a member of the board of directors for Atwood Oceanics.

Read 6055 times