Join OEdigital on Facebook Join OEdigital on LinkedIn Join OEdigital on Twitter

NOIA elects new board members

Written by  OE Staff Friday, 07 April 2017 15:49

The National Ocean Industries Association (NOIA) board of directors has elected David H. Welch as chairman and John Gellert as vice chairman for the upcoming 2017-2018 term.

Welch, Stone Energy president and CEO, becomes the first producer to serve as chairman at NOIA. Welch joined Stone Energy in 2004. He previously served on NOIA’s board of directors.

“With recovering commodity prices and a more energy-aware administration in Washington, DC, NOIA and its members can now work better with Washington to help forge common-sense policies that allow for the safe development of all offshore energy resources,” says Welch

Gellert, SEARCOR Marine Holdings president since 2015, also serves as a co-COO for SEACOR Holdings.

“Dave and John assume NOIA leadership during a pivotal time for the offshore industry. Commodity prices are stubbornly creeping up and, after eight years, we finally have an administration that understands the benefits of ‘all of the above’ energy,” says NOIA President Randall Luthi. “As we enter what should be a brighter year, we have a true opportunity to make the case for offshore energy, both in the short and long-term. President Trump is looking for ways to kick start the American economy and generate federal revenue. Our industry offers a way to achieve both.”

NOIA also announced the election of 16 industry leaders to its board of directors.

First term appointment include: Chris Beckett, CEO, Pacific Drilling; Kenny Lang, president and COO, Ridgewood Energy Corp.; Mike McCauley, operations GM, Arena Offshore; David de Roode, senior VP, Lockton Marine & Energy; Douglas Stephens, president and CEO, Frank’s International; and Jim Wicklund, managing director, Credit-Suisse.

Board member that were reappointed for a second term include: Erik Bartsch, exploration manager, Gulf of Mexico, Shell Energy Resources Co.; Cornelius Dupré, chairman and CEO, Dupré Energy Services; Bill Flores, Houston, TX; Cliffe Laborde, managing member, Laborde Marine Management; Mark Meunier, vice president, Kiewit Offshore Services; Lee Orgeron, Montco Offshore; and Will Pecue, president, Taylor Energy Co.

Executive Committee of the board of directors include: Robert Abendschein, VP, Deepwater Americas, Anadarko Petroleum Co.; Erik Bartsch, Exploration Manager, Gulf of Mexico, Shell Energy Resources Co.; Matt McCarroll, president and CEO, Fieldwood Energy; and David Williams, chairman, president and CEO, Noble Corp.

Among its priorities, NOIA is looking to the Trump administration to begin a process reversing the Obama administration’s actions to keep sections of the outer continental shelf off the Atlantic states and Alaska closed to exploration for years to come.

“NOIA will continue our push to increase access to our offshore resources and establish a fair and reliable regulatory environment for our industry. Our industry has a proven track record of providing well-paying jobs, affordable domestic energy for our nation and vital revenue streams for federal, state and local governments. In return, past Federal policies have closed over 94% of the outer continental shelf to oil and natural gas exploration.  It is time to reverse that trend and discover the full energy potential of the US offshore,” says Luthi.

Read 2585 times